Skip to main content

Jasper N. Deahl Award

Jasper Newton Deahl (1859 – 1942)

Jasper N. Deahl (1859-1942) Dean, College of Education 1927-1930

“One of West Virginia’s Greatest Educators”

Jasper Newton Deahl, born in Barbour County (VA) in 1859 attended Fairmont Normal School and West Virginia University and graduated from the University of Nashville. He taught in rural schools and was principal at West Liberty Normal School. He earned both a master’s degree and the doctor of philosophy at Teachers College, Columbia University. In 1901, he started his career at WVU as professor of pedagogy and for many years was the only full time member of the department. From 1927 to 1930 he served as the first dean of the newly formed College of Education. He was responsible for initiating new WVU education programs and courses including student teaching and founded University High School as a laboratory school for preparing teachers. He served on the first West Virginia State Board of Education and upon his retirement at the age of 74, was hailed by his colleagues as….”one of West Virginia’s greatest educators…”

Research provided by Dr. Sam Stack, professor, department of curriculum and instruction / literacy studies.

Past Recipients

  • Wendy Imperial
  • Barbara N. Armstrong (posthumous)
  • Gretchen E. Gibson
  • Donna Hoylman Peduto
  • Lydotta M. Taylor
  • Sherwood Anderson
  • Maxine Arbogast
  • Harry (Hank) Bostic
  • Shannon Bennett Campbell
  • Richard Cavasina
  • Mike Cunningham
  • Sherry Cunningham
  • Adam Cantley
  • Douglass Covey, Sr.
  • Kristi Cumberledge
  • Joanie Davis
  • Brian Day
  • Frank Devono, Sr.
  • Hugh Fordyce
  • Billie Friedland
  • Eleanor Green
  • Hal Goldberg
  • F. Duke Haddad, Jr.
  • Priscilla Haden
  • Margaret Moats Hall
  • Dave Hammer
  • Zack Hill
  • Candi Keiter Johnson
  • Melissa Johnson Kent
  • Eric Kincaid
  • Ruth Lewis
  • Gayle Connelly Manchin
  • Mary Marockie
  • Kaye McCrory
  • Judith Mountjoy
  • Carol Muniz
  • Eric Murphy
  • Joy Myers
  • Candace Rotruck
  • Gerard Schmidt
  • Mary Beth Sickles
  • Judith Thomas
  • Laura VanHorn
  • Richard Walls
  • Lonny Watro
  • William A. Welker
  • Clacy Williams